Wednesday, October 26, 2005

The 18 Chapters of the Gita

From: Swee Chan <>
Date: Oct 26, 2005 3:42 AM
Subject: The 18 Chapters of the Gita
To: SJCA <>,

Jaya Jagannatha

Dear Lists,


According to Padma Purāëa, Chapters 175 - 192 Section VI Uttarakhaëòa.

The Païca Mukhi are the 5 Chapters of the Gitā in order.

The next 10 Chapters are the Arms

Chapter 16 is the Belly and,

The remaining 2 Chapters i.e., Chapter 17 and 18 are His Lotus Feet.

The Pünya to be received from reading each Chapter are listed as below:

Chapter 1:     Due to the recitation or memorizing it or if one studies it, the ocean of mundane existence is not difficult to cross.

Chapter 2:     It is the concluding limit of Penance

Chapter 3:     Releasing all others in the family (who have gone to Hell).

Chapter 4:     Removing a Curse from a Sage

Chapter 5:     Ability to go to the desired worlds in rebirth

Chapter 6:     Salvation (Goes to Viñëu's position)

Chapter 7:     To remove rebirth of one's father who has taken the form of a snake

Chapter 8:     To release ancestors from Ghosthood

Chapter 9:     To overcome calamities caused by accepting "bad" gifts

Chapter 10:   To obtain the fruits of all stages of (human) life

Chapter 11:   To obtain final bliss

Chapter 12:   To regain consciousness or to regain life; To obtain great salvation

Chapter 13:   To free oneself from the body of a candela

Chapter 14:   To obtain liberation from a hare's (body) and reach vaikuntha

Chapter 15:   To obtain salvation

Chapter 16:   To obtain Divine Power and escape from an elephant's stampede?

Chapter 17:   To end the death inflicting fever; the person evades hellish conditions by obtaining instant heavenly abode

Chapter 18:   To secure "union" with Viñëu

Corrections are welcome!



Brihaspati Gayatri, Vishwamitra/Gaathina Rishi Rig Veda 6.62.6